The Aftermath

When I started adapting the cavegirl lifestyle, I was skeptical as to whether or not I could sustain it.  After all, I’ve had rice all my life.  Turns out, it’s not that difficult.  Sure the first weeks were excruciating, but now, three months after, I’m still at it.  I’m not as strict as I was but I just find a happy balance between what’s Paleo and what’s not.  When I’m faced with cake, pizza or ice cream, I don’t turn it down.  What am I, crazy?  I find that I do indulge but in small amounts.  It’s not me thinking “Oh, I shouldn’t have this.” but it’s more that I can’t have any more.  Seriously.  I guess my appetite for certain foods has been minimized.  Which is great!  Where my brother can finish a 12oz. Blizzard in one sitting, I can barely get through half of a 9oz.  I still spend upwards of 2 hours in the kitchen several nights a week so I could have healthy options for the following day.  I’ve stopped going to the gym for boxing lessons as I’ve found that doing yoga in my house is more cost-effective and actually effective.  I’m seeing results I haven’t seen in almost two years of doing cardio/dance-based exercises:

Image
No big deal, just yoga-ing it up at sunset on the beach.

10364067_10203009924702984_8830703249844904916_n

 

Going cavegirl has also allowed me to develop a penchant for exploring new recipes:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Salmon with Tomato, Baked Potato and Carrots
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Bacon/Tomato/Parsley/White Cheese Frittata
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Shrimp Salad
Sweet Potato Brownies
Sweet Potato Brownies
IMG_20140507_145214
Banana Bread
IMG_20140524_184814
Crabby Patties with Slaw
IMG_20140528_164552
The World’s Healthiest Cookie – according to Foodie Fiasco

So when I see posts from people who are struggling with their workout/diet routines, I am very much tempted to share with them what I am doing.  But I also understand that there is no one-size-fits-all lifestyle for everyone so I approach those situations with caution.  As for me, I’m not really seeing any downside to this practice so I’ll keep at it for as long as I can.

 

Leave a Reply

