Haters Gonna Hate

A person that develops a strong dislike for another, solely basing their own opinion on personal judgment rather than objective merit. The formation of a hater’s contempt commonly arises from jealously and/or resentment.
(from urbandictionary.com)
Today, I was made aware of some chatter involving me.  I never thought I would have haters but, apparently, I do.  I realize I can never please everyone and I can never stop people from drawing their own opinions or conclusions about me.  They can dislike me and that’s fine.  But if that dislike leads to gossip or influencing others in their dislike of me – that is simply not cool.
This revelation has led me to pause and reflect.  How are my actions affecting others?  When one end of the spectrum yields positive and encouraging remarks, and the other conveys maligned defamatory statements based on, well, nothing really.  Statements that are just false!  They don’t know me.  They’ve never bothered to get to know me.  And I’m being criticized for hogging a certain group of individuals to myself?!  I didn’t realize I was that powerful!  To be able to manipulate people into nurturing relationships with me!
I admire those people who can easily take the moral high road without missing a beat.  I am determined to do the same but it’s going to take a lot more than just a decision.  It’s going to take humility, forgiveness and grace.  Tons and tons of grace.

 

Leave a Reply

