The Art of Losing

Headaches and low energy.  With a dash of irritability.

My transition to the Paleo lifestyle hasn’t been all roses and rainbows and unicorns.  I may not be doing it entirely right.  I wonder if I’m taking in enough fat in my diet.  I do treat myself to sugars and grains occasionally, especially when it’s inevitable, ie. going out with friends or office treats and what-have-you.

I was surprised to find out that I had lost about 11 pounds since that fateful day that I started.  I couldn’t believe my eyes.  The scale was for sure showing me a number drastically lower than it did before but for the life of me, I do not see it physically.  I may have lost an inch here and there but it still does not feel like a significant loss, even though it was eleven freaking pounds!!

11. Freakin’. Pounds!

Surely, the scale cannot lie.  I do struggle with self-doubt and it’s difficult for me to look at myself the way others see me.

So, in celebration of these 11 pounds lost, I attempted to recreate brownies using a recipe from ComfyBelly, using coconut flour of course.  It called for 3/4 cup of honey which had me running scared so I only used less than half a cup, if that.  I had used dark cocoa powder, which I wasn’t sure if it was sweetened or not so I treaded lightly.

Celebration Brownies

As I was using a tiny toaster oven, I could only make thin ones.  The texture was a bit cake-like as one commenter had said, and since I did not follow the honey measurement, the taste was a bit dark and not as sweet, which is fine by me.  I shall try these next time.  Excited!

Leave a Reply

