Channeling my Frustration

For a while now I’ve been in a situation that is bringing out the worst in me.  This is the first time I’ve ever used that phrase to describe something I am going through.  It’s a challenge to hold back because the alternative would be to do or say something that I may inevitably regret.  So I’m doing my best to maintain some space from the situation.  It isn’t always easy though.

Something that’s helped is my burgeoning foray into preparing Paleo-friendly dishes for myself.  I’ve found that in order to support this lifestyle, I will need to pack lunches and snacks because more often than not, I won’t be able to get acceptable options from our lunch menu.  It’s time-consuming, yes, but I have to say, there is some satisfaction in putting in the work towards better health.

Baked Sweet Potato Fries with Salt and Pepper
Baked Sweet Potato Fries with Salt and Pepper

Yum!! I can tell I would want to make these frequently.

Coconut Flour Naan
Coconut Flour Naan

Erm.  Real naan is much better, of course.  But I’m going to try and find a way to tweak the recipe to improve it.  Still a bit coconutty.

Chicken Taco Salad
Chicken Taco Salad

Not entirely new to me as it is a bit of a staple.  Going caveman just gives me a reason to have it more often. 🙂

Coconut Flour Banana Bread
Coconut Flour Banana Bread

As I was only using a tiny toaster oven, it would not cook all the way through.  Otherwise, this would have been awesome.

Fern Salad with Salted Duck Egg
Fern Salad with Salted Duck Egg

This is good, but somehow I doubt if this would fill me up at lunch.  I read somewhere that we should not “graze” and have only two to three meals per day.  They will have to be two to three big meals then!

I’m trying to get a hold of spaghetti squash so I can try a pasta alternative.  It would be so cool if I end up liking it because I love me some pasta.  There is just a wealth of “Paleo” recipes out there and that’s great but not every ingredient is available to me.  I had avoided the public market forever, my guess is because  of laziness but I went this weekend and it was great!  There’s quite a difference between supermarket prices so I ended up saving a bit which is always nice so I treated myself to a pedicure and a haircut. 🙂

Leave a Reply

